Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia

Official videos

Follow this artist

About this artist

Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia ("Orchestra of the National Academy of Santa Cecilia") is an Italian symphony orchestra, founded in 1908 as . It is currently led by .

It is based at the National Academy of St Cecilia, one of the oldest musical institutions the world. The Academy is based at the Auditorium Parco della Musica in Rome, and was founded by the papal bull, Ratione congruit, issued by Sixtus V in 1585.

Note: Do not confuse with Orchestra Da Camera Di Santa Cecilia a separate ensamble of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia.

Bernardino Molinari (1912–1944)
Franco Ferrara (1944–1945)
Fernando Previtali (1953–1973)
Igor Markevitch (1973–1975)
Giuseppe Sinopoli (1983–1987)
Uto Ughi (1987–1992)
Daniele Gatti (1992–1997)
Myung-Whun Chung (1997–2005)
Antonio Pappano (2005–present)