Yin Yin

Official videos

Follow this artist

About this artist

Dutch quartet YĪN YĪN play a cosmic, danceable fusion of funk, disco, psychedelia, and Southeast Asian traditions. Their surf-influenced debut album, The Rabbit That Hunts Tigers, appeared in 2019 and earned the group a considerable following. They returned in 2022 with the more mystical, party-friendly The Age of Aquarius.
YĪN YĪN consists of Yves Lennertz (guitar, bass, phin, synthesizer, vocals), Kees Berkers (drums, percussion, synthesizer), Remy Scheren (bass guitar), and Robbert Verwijlen (organ, synthesizer). The band formed in Maastricht in 2017, originally calling themselves Lady Boys. They issued a 2018 cassette titled Pingpxng under this name, shortly before changing their name to YĪN YĪN and releasing their debut single, “Dion Ysiusk,” on Les Disques Bongo Joe. The full-length The Rabbit That Hunts Tigers arrived in October 2019 and attracted fans of similar artists such as Khruangbin and L'éclair. “Haw Phin,” a single written during COVID-19 lockdown, was released in 2020. As live performances resumed, they worked on their second album, and The Age of Aquarius, a disco-heavy record inspired by the Yuga Cycle in Hindu cosmology, was issued by Glitterbeat in 2022. ~ Paul Simpson