We Lost The Sea

Official videos

Follow this artist

About this artist

We Lost the Sea are an Australian post-metal group whose epic sound combines sludgy guitars with crescendos reminiscent of cinematic post-rock bands. Formed in 2007, the group’s expansive lineup is centered around guitarists Mark Owen, Brendan Warner, and Matt Harvey, bassist Kieran Elliot, drummer Nathanial D’Ugo, and keyboard player Mat Kelly. The group’s early lineup also included Bradley Garnam, Grant Warner, and vocalist Chris Torpy, who all contributed to Crimea, the group’s debut full-length. Engineered and mixed by Cult of Luna’s Magnus Lindberg, the self-released album appeared in 2010. The group played several successful shows throughout Australia, including performances with American band Rosetta, and signed to Bird’s Robe Records in 2012. The Quietest Place on Earth, the band’s second full-length, appeared on the label that December. The album expanded the group’s sound significantly, incorporating pianos as well as greater dynamic changes. Tragedy struck the band in March of 2013, as Torpy committed suicide at the age of 24. We Lost the Sea drastically slowed their activity that year, only playing two concerts. Fortunately, they were able to regain focus the following year, and began working on their most ambitious material yet. Departure Songs appeared in July of 2015 (co-released by Bird’s Robe, Art as Catharsis, and Translation Loss); the ambitious double album featured choral vocals by a girls’ high-school choir, as well as cello and trumpet arrangements, and all of the songs were inspired by specific stories of failed yet honorable events throughout history, such as the Challenger flight. Following the album’s release, the band performed concerts with Japanese orchestral post-rock band Mono. ~ Paul Simpson