The Amazing

Official videos

Follow this artist

About this artist

The Amazing make psychedelic indie rock with a dreamy, panoramic sound. The group was founded by established members of Sweden’s indie community: Christoffer Gunrup (Granada), Reine Fiske (Dungen), Johan Holmegard (Dungen and Life on Earth!), and Fredrik Swahn (Anna Järvinen). Released by Swedish label Subliminal Sounds, the group’s 2009 eponymous debut album featured guest appearances from Fredrik Björling (Dungen) and Eric Malmberg (Sagor & Swing). The Wait for a Light to Come EP followed in 2010. After issuing their second album, Gentle Stream, in 2011, the Amazing signed with American label Partisan and shuffled their lineup, subtracting Holmegard while adding bassist Alexis Benson and drummer Moussa Fadera. Their third LP, Picture You, was recorded in an intense three-day burst (with vocal and keyboard overdubs added later) and released in early 2015. They followed it a year later with Ambulance, which captured their hazy meditations live in the studio with minimal rehearsing. It was recorded at Buller & Bång Records in Stockholm, as was their fifth album, In Transit, which saw release in 2018. ~ James Christopher Monger & Marcy Donelson