Buy their music on

About this artist

Silverchair were an Australian rock band, which formed in 1992 as Innocent Criminals in Newcastle, New South Wales with Ben Gillies on drums, Daniel Johns on vocals and guitars, and Chris Joannou on bass guitar. The group got their big break in mid-1994 when they won a national demo competition conducted by SBS TV show Nomad and ABC radio station, Triple J. The band was signed by Murmur, and were successful in Australia and internationally.
Silverchair won more ARIA Music Awards than any other artist in history with 21 wins from 49 nominations. They also received six APRA Awards, with Johns winning three songwriting awards in 2008. All five of their studio albums debuted at number one on the ARIA Albums Chart: Frogstomp, Freak Show, Neon Ballroom, Diorama, and Young Modern. Three singles reached number-one on the related ARIA Singles Chart: "Tomorrow", "Freak", and "Straight Lines".
Silverchair's alternative rock sound evolved throughout their career, differing styles on specific albums growing more ambitious over the years, from grunge on their debut to more recent work displaying orchestral and art rock influences.