Porridge Radio

Follow this artist

About this artist

Porridge Radio’s blend of garage rock, slowcore, and art-punk started as the D.I.Y. project of Brighton, England’s Dana Margolin. Her first set of solo acoustic demos, Misery Radio, got a small-label release in 2015. The project expanded to a five-piece for 2016′s Rice, Pasta and Other Fillers before making a leap in recording quality and volatility with 2020′s Every Bad, Porridge Radio’s first studio album.
Begun as a guitar-based, laptop-recorded solo effort in 2012, Porridge Radio released its first collection of uploaded demos, Misery Radio, on Eyeless Records in May 2015. Margolin followed it with the self-released I’m Not Sure Anymore that December and the EP Say Sorry or Die early the next year. Early 2016 also brought a split EP with West America called Hello Dog Friendly.
Expanding the lineup to include Margolin (vocals, guitar), Georgie Stott (keyboards, vocals), Snake Leather aka Josh Harvey (guitar), Maddie Ryall (bass, vocals), and Sam Yardley (drums), Porridge Radio released its first band LP, Rice, Pasta and Other Fillers, in August 2016. It was recorded in Yardley’s shed. Another solo EP, frgttng, appeared in October of that year. The solo full-length Bad Breath eventually saw release in December 2017. Still spare and rough-hewn, it included experiments with sound samples, keyboards, and electronics. That same month, Porridge Radio issued the seasonal song “O. Christmas.” A series of tracks arrived throughout 2019 before the long-player Every Bad followed on Secretly Canadian in March of 2020. Their first studio album, it was recorded as a four-piece following the departure of Harvey. ~ Marcy Donelson