Nine Inch Nails

Buy their music on

About this artist

Nine Inch Nails, commonly abbreviated as NIN, is an American industrial rock band formed in 1988 in Cleveland, Ohio. Singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and producer Trent Reznor was the only permanent member of the band until the official addition of English musician Atticus Ross in 2016.

Reznor recorded the band's debut album, Pretty Hate Machine, while working overnight as a janitor at a Cleveland recording studio. After feuding with the label TVT Records about promotion, Reznor signed with Interscope Records and released the EP Broken. The following albums, The Downward Spiral and The Fragile, were released to critical acclaim and commercial success.

Following a hiatus, Nine Inch Nails resumed touring in 2005 and released their fourth album, With Teeth. Following the release of Year Zero, Reznor left Interscope after a feud. Nine Inch Nails continued touring and independently released Ghosts I–IV and The Slip before a second hiatus. Their eighth album, Hesitation Marks, was followed by a trilogy consisting of the EPs Not the Actual Events and Add Violence and their ninth album Bad Witch.

Show more
Powered by Songwhip-
Report a problem