Modest Mouse

Buy their music on

About this artist

Under the close tutelage of indie rock kingpin Calvin Johnson, Modest Mouse have cultivated a twangy, folk-tinged rock sound that is nothing less than inspiring. Blending grainy, high-pitched vocals catchy guitar hooks and an aversion to traditional rock song structures, this humble threesome churn out track after track of gut-wrenching emotive romps. Not afraid to soar from melodic acoustic ballads to screeching digressions that verge on jam rock, Modest Mouse strike a balance between musical energy and expressive candor, finding an angsty, melancholic purity that eludes other indie bands.