Dark Horses

Official videos

Follow this artist

About this artist

Making darkly psychedelic electro-rock reminiscent of the Raveonettes, the Kills, and Metric, Brighton, England’s Dark Horses feature Swedish singer/harmonica player Lisa Elle, guitarist/organist Bobby Waterson, guitarist Andy Bang, drummer Steve Ingham, bassist/keyboardist Harry Bohay-Nowell, and percussionist Tommy Chain. With a few live shows under their belt, Dark Horses scored a gig as an opening act on one of Kasabian’s arena tours, and dates with Tame Impala, Black Mountain, and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club followed soon after. Dark Horses began recording tracks with Death in Vegas’ Richard Fearless, who took them to Michigan’s Key Club studio. The first fruits of their collaboration arrived in July 2012 with the Radio single, which featured a song, “Radio Offshore,” co-written by BRMC’s Robert Levon Been. That October, the Alone single appeared shortly before the release of the band’s debut album, Black Music. In April 2013, the album was released in the U.S. After touring with the likes of Beck and Sigur Rós as well as Kasabian and BRMC, the group reconvened with Fearless in the studio. In April 2014, the single “Live on Hunger” pointed the way to the more stripped-down, rock-oriented direction of Hail Lucid State, which arrived that August. ~ Heather Phares